Mama

Posted: May 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

for mother’s day, I have chosen to share a poem that I wrote last year for mother’s Day.  Hope you enjoy 🙂

Mama.

Yes, it’s a self-title…  It’s what I’m teaching you to call me.

Somehow so foreign, somehow so natural.

Mama.

Is that me?  Could it really be?

A simple name, so easy to murmur.

I chose it carefully.  A name that is new in my experience.  No one else has been Mama to me.

Mama is my name, JUST for you.

Mama.

So much more than just a source of food.

I gave myself the name for you.

You give me the meaning.

Mama doesn’t just feed you when you’re hungry.

She nurtures you.

She delights in every new thing you experience.

She longs to hold you at every cry.

She wants to teach you how to meet your own needs, not because she doesn’t want to do it anymore, but because she longs to see you grow, and to become the person you were created to be.

Mama doesn’t just want to be there.

She longs for you to know she cares.

She notices every change.

She feels the weight of your sorrow when you cry and she is not there right away.

She feels the longing of your heart when you cry for her to hold you.

She sees the adoration in your eyes when all you want to do is stare at her

She loves to show you what she’s doing when you’re curious and searching

When you look at me, with adoration, as all you want to do is gaze at me, my heart is so deeply blessed.

All the different things you do,

the ways that you are,

the ways that I long for you to be.

Sometimes all you want to do is explore the world I’ve surrounded you with.

Sometimes you long to be creative, to find out the sounds and shapes things make when you play with them!  I love this!

Sometimes all you want to do is to see what I’m doing.  Sometimes you want to do it with me!

My work is too complicated for you sometimes, but don’t worry! I’m patient, and I love to carefully teach you what I’m doing, so that you can join me in my work!

Sometimes you want to talk to me, with the kinds of words that I use.  I know that you get frustrated sometimes, when your sounds don’t seem to come out right.

But I will patiently teach you my language, and I will never tire of smiling back into your face, murmuring “I love you” and so many other words, until you understand them, and can use them too!  And then I will still say them, over and over.  I love to talk to you!

And sometimes all you want to do is rest in my arms, and feel my heart beating for you.

Sometimes you look at me, and I wonder what you see.  You look at me and marvel, and your face just fills with glee.  You sit there and you stare and stare, and there I feel your love, and those moments pass more slowly, as we drink eachother’s love.

Sometimes you’re unhappy, and even angry with me.  You don’t always understand why I’ve taken something away.

Sometimes you hurt yourself, and you think that it’s my fault, so you cry and even yell at me.

You know, my child, that hurts me, but I love you just the same, and you should know that I know better, as you’re crying out my name…  I know the things that hurt you, and I know to keep you safe, so instead I love to hold you, and kiss away your pain.

Please know I’ll always love you, and this love is so profound!  I had never dreamed that such great love would, in ME abound!

Jehovah

I am Who I Am

It’s what I’m teaching you to call me.

Somehow so foreign, somehow so natural.

Abba

A simple name, so easy to murmur.

I chose it carefully.  My lap is here for you to climb into

Yahweh is my name, JUST for you.

Yahweh

So much more than just provision for your need.

I gave myself for you.

You give yourself to me.

I don’t just feed you when you’re hungry.

I nurture you.

I delight in every new thing you experience.

I long to hold you at every cry.

I want to teach you how to meet your own needs, not because I don’t want to do it anymore, but because I long to see you grow, and to become the person I created you to be.

I don’t just want to be there.

I long for you to know I care.

I notice every change.

I feel the weight of your sorrow when you cry and I am not there right away.

I feel the longing of your heart when you cry for me to hold you.

I see the adoration in your eyes when all you want to do is stare at me

I love to show you what I’m doing when you’re curious and searching

When you look at me, with adoration, as all you want to do is gaze at me, my heart is so deeply blessed.

All the different things you do the ways that you are, the ways that I long for you to be.

Sometimes all you want to do is explore the world I’ve surrounded you with.

Sometimes you long to be creative, to find out the sounds and shapes things make when you play with them!  I love this!

Sometimes all you want to do is to see what I’m doing.  Sometimes you want to do it with me!

My work is too complicated for you sometimes, but don’t worry! I’m patient, and I love to carefully teach you what I’m doing, so that you can join me in my work!

Sometimes you want to talk to me, with the kinds of words that I use.  I know that you get frustrated sometimes, when your sounds don’t seem to come out right.

But I will patiently teach you my language, and I will never tire of smiling back into your face, murmuring “I love you” and so many other words, until you understand them, and can use them too!  And then I will still say them, over and over.  I love to talk to you!

And sometimes all you want to do is rest in my arms, and feel my heart beating for you.

Sometimes you look at me, and I wonder what you see.  You look at me and marvel, and your face just fills with glee.  You sit there and you stare and stare, and there I feel your love, and those moments pass more slowly, as we drink eachother’s love.

Sometimes you’re unhappy, and even angry with me.  You don’t always understand why I’ve taken something away.

Sometimes you hurt yourself, and you think that it’s my fault, so you cry and even yell at me.

You know, my child, that hurts me, but I love you just the same, and you should know that I know better, as you’re crying out my name…  I know the things that hurt you, and I know to keep you safe, so instead I love to hold you, and kiss away your pain.

Please know I’ll always love you, and this love is so profound!  The greatest love that you could dream, does, for YOU abound!

Leave a Reply

