The Birthplace of superiority?

Posted: April 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

there are so many things that i could write about from the past couple days, but i’ve decided instead to follow-up on yesterday’s post… the more I reflect on my encounters with those who seem to have a serious superiority complex, the more I wonder…

Is the birthplace of superiority really inferiority?

I mean… we’ve all been told that many times in many different ways… “they’re just intimidated, so they’re showing off” or “she’s just jealous,”  or “They are just compensating”

But is it “just” that?

I’m wondering…

Is it that these people are having trouble relating to the world, to their peer group, to their world, somehow…  and so they are trying to come to grips with what their relationship is with the world around them?  Maybe they recognize that they don’t fit in with the world around them.  No one likes to feel alone.  I don’t think anyone has ever realized that they didn’t fit in in a given surrounding and just said, “ok” and that was the end of it.  I think some part of our consciousness ALWAYS needs to figure out what our relationship is with the world around us… even if it’s an unhealthy relationship.

I think, maybe in part because the accuser is quick to tail us and tell us how worthless we are, most of us will first go to the place of assessing ourselves to be inferior to the world that we are finding ourselves unable to relate to.

And then, perhaps, there is something within each of us that recognizes that every life has value and that *WE* have value and that “I have something to offer!”

maybe…  this TRUE realization births the a sort of defiant notion… Maybe it would sound something like this…

“No! I AM good!  If they don’t want me, it’s because they’re too short-sighted, or narrowminded, or stupid to see how awesome I am!  hmph…  I’m better than them.  They just don’t get me.”

So how do we teach eachother that we ARE valuable, loved, have something to offer one another, and important?

How do we affirm that truth and dethrone “superiority complexes”?

 

I suspect that it starts by not attempting to dethrone superiority complexes.

I submit that it starts by being humble enough to allow them to feel that they are superior to us.

in quiet grace, and humble love, great transformations are born.

Comments
  1. Debbie says:

    Love the pin!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

