“help”

Posted: October 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

It’s really easy to avoid the person who seems like they’ve got just one too many balls in the air, rather than come over and offer an extra hand.

 

and that’s fair… how many times don’t we respond with an indignant, “I can do it” when someone offers help?  It can make others a little gun-shy!

And it can be hard to know what to do…

So I am even more inspired and please at your courage in coming over and doing the simple thing of kindly talking to my daughter while I tried to manage the ringing phone, returning my bank card to my wallet, my stroller, my two bags of groceries, and now, all of a sudden, my daughter’s unexplained screaming and tears.

It was a courageous thing to do, and a simple thing to do, and the effect that it had on my emotional storm was staggering…

The simple message that “you are not alone” gives a person amazing strength to carry on!  Even if you’re not going to do anything else, simply knowing that someone is sympathetic to one’s plight somehow seems to encourage the spirit.

Again… it seems to come back to being seen.

having someone recognize that there’s a person underneath the issues…

being reminded that you are a person, and that you are valuable enough for another person to come and enter into your struggle with you, even if just for a moment.

Thank you!

Thank you for the kindness of seeing me as a person, and seeing my Daughter as a person, and making such a simple act of love that calmed both of us.

May you be blessed with many smiling faces, who see YOU and carry you when you are weak!

Leave a Reply

